Kabayan Ko, Kapatid Ko.

I’ll make this post short and simple, without all the flowery words and fancy thoughts. Because that’s Him. He’s always straight about what He wants for the church and for His people. I’m a member of the Church of Christ, and I’m proud.

I remember (from the news earlier) Senator Santiago and political commentator Casiple saying there is this subliminal message behind this big event. I was like, whatever.  I was here and even with all the criticisms we’ve all been hearing, I’m very glad I was able to help with the proclamation of God’s unending glory.

Image

(c) PhoebeMichelle’s tumblr

Days before this big event, our local district of Metro Manila East announced the need for us to help in the repacking of goods that will be distributed.  Here are some screenshots from Facebook:

Image

Image

And now for the Grand Evangelical Mission. “Kabayan Ko, Kapatid Ko” (My countrymen, my brethren) project of the Iglesia ni Cristo (INC) and the Felix Y. Manalo Foundation Inc.

I left our house at 12:45 am, for our assembly time at church was 1am. As usual, a prayer for our safety, guidance for all of the members of the INC and success for this event was held by our local pastor. (Ka Cesar. Barangka, Mandaluyong)

I was with my closest friends and we were there at around 2am. At this early, you’ll never know that the crowd was already huge. The program / “pamamahayag”/ evangelical mission started  a few hours later followed by the project which offered free medical, dental and relief services.

g

Minister Glicerio B. Santos Jr., general auditor of the INC, said Kabayan Ko was launched in response to the needs of those living in extreme poverty, whether or not they are INC members.

“Our Executive Minister Eduardo V. Manalo sees the growing number of our countrymen living in extreme poverty. The Iglesia ni Cristo and the FYM Foundation have long been responding to the needs of those victimized by disasters, both natural and manmade. This time, we have expanded these efforts as we want our poor countrymen to feel that they are not alone, that there is someone aware of their needs. They are our brothers, too,” Santos said.

Every INC member understands the value of sacrifice, even though most of us are tired, sleepless and hungry, we stayed until 11am. Needless to say, I felt very blessed.

IMG_20131014_063119

IMG_20131014_064026

 

Expand your knowledge, read straight from them: Kabayan Ko,Kapatid Ko website.

I watched the NEWS  and as always, I got chills and a part of my heart felt a little heavier. That part had always been responsible for my fears brought by the tragedies. I have a lot of thoughts about this, but I can only say that:

1. God knows what he is doing.

2. God loves the whole Church of Christ.

3. To all the affected members in Bohol, God has great plans for you. Trust Him.

Oh wait, let me share this. Did you know about this girl?

Capture

Read this blog and found out what happened. She’s a fellow brethren but let’s be clear that her opinion should never reflect the Church Of Christ.  With zero sarcasm, God bless her. I was reading the comments and my heart is a little broken that some people just can’t keep their minds open. Stop generalizing, she has her own views. The Iglesia Ni Cristo has nothing to do with this post and I’m sure her local church officers will talk to her about this.

The mind is like a parachute, it won’t work unless it’s open, dear. For all haters of INC, just stop.

“When you are reviled and persecuted and lied about because you are my followers, wonderful! Be happy about it! Be very glad! For a tremendous reward waits you up in heaven.” — Matthew 5:11-12, The Bible.

6 thoughts on “Kabayan Ko, Kapatid Ko.

  1. Iisang Bagong Tao ang Iglesia ni Cristo…si Cristo ang Ulo at Iglesia ang katawan. Isang Dyos , isang Espiritu,Isang Diwa…Ang sakit ng kalingkingan ay dama ng boong katawan. Kaya naman PAUMANHIN PO sa mga nasaktan ng aming kapatid sa kanyang naipost at tungkol sa mga naguhong bahay sambahan ng ibat ibang pananampalataya. Ang isang kawalan ay di dapat ikatuwa ng sinuman…Matuto po tayo sanang magpakumbaba..Salamat po sa mga nakaunawa at nagpatawad..Humbly yours…INC.

Leave a Reply

